I believe in the power of words

Author: Kaci Mayfield, TCU Student, Business Major

Published: November 6th, 2012

I believe in progress and timing. I believe if you have air in your lungs and two working legs you should continually be moving forward in the direction your head and your heart guide you. And if your head and your heart can’t seem to reach an agreement, go with your gut. And if that doesn’t work, call mom; she always knows what to do. I believe that there will be days where the only thing you accomplish is converting oxygen to carbon dioxide and that’s okay too. I believe each day you are given is a second chance to make up for what you couldn’t do the day before; each day also holds a new opportunity of its own. I believe in finding solace in missing your flight or bus or train, because you just may cross paths with a person who will impact your life or take you on an unexpected adventure.

I also believe in pain. I believe that unless you know gut-wrenching, heart stopping, I-can’t-breathe-because-it-hurts agony you will never truly understand moments of overwhelmingly boundless joy and love. I believe in heartbreak. I believe in struggles. I believe there is beauty in even the darkest of moments. I believe that if you can’t let go of it all, it will weigh you down. Most of all, I believe in pain because if you can feel it, you are still alive.

Lastly, I believe in the power of words. I believe that language can lift the spirit to new heights, and that it can also break it. I believe in songs that have lyrics that can disrupt your very soul, give you the chills, make you cry and laugh and change your outlook on life. I believe we should choose our words wisely because once they’ve been released to the universe; there is no taking them back. I believe the written word has the ability to transport the mind somewhere over the rainbow and down the road less taken, past Elysian Fields, Parnassus and the Hundred Acre Wood to Shangri La and back again. I believe that words can change people. I believe if people said what they meant and meant what they said the world would be a much better place. And I believe that if you are able to read these words, you are blessed beyond measure and should be grateful. I believe I am.

Leave a Reply

