I Believe in the Power of Gray Skull, by Sharon Fronk

My name is Sharon Fronk, I am a recent graduate from TCU. I received my degree in Biology with a minor in anthropology. I am from Southern California, where I am now living again and I currently have no job. It’s difficult to be positive and outgoing when all those around you seem to have their life together and you don’t. We’ve all been there: a feeling of loss of control or questioning what will come next. It’s easy to get sucked into a pit of despair. Luckily, there are super heroes.

Though I have not encountered He Man and his the power of Gray Skull, I have experienced super heroes. To quote the Disney Pixar movie The Incredibles “everyone can be super”. Qualities admired in super heroes such as kindness, generosity, patience, loyalty, etcetera, can be found in the strangest of places. A stranger at a restaurant mails you your drivers’ license when they discover it on the floor long after you’ve left. Some guy in a youtube video who stops kids bullying their peers at  school can restore our faith in humanity just as Batman defeating the Penguin gives hope to the people of Gotham.

Most of the super heroes we know and love are friends or relatives. They are always there to save us in our time of need, doing something miraculous to lift us up. Our super heroes may not be able to shoot lasers from their eyes or have gone through a metamorphic transformation due to cosmic radiation. Nevertheless they have the ability to travel half way around the world for us.

The world is full of depressing thoughts, actions, and villains. Who will we turn to? I do believe there are super heroes constantly acting in people’s day to day lives. We too can be super, if we so chose. With great power comes great responsibility though, which I think is what stops most people from being super. I will not deny that responsibility is a heavy cross to bear. I will also not sit here and say let someone else take on the responsibility and have him or her be super while you sit and watch. We all have the power of Gray Skull inside of us that we can tap into to make a difference in someone’s life. I believe we can all be the super heroes people need.

……………..

GA TIB Book Sharon FronkMy name is Sharon Fronk, I am  a 21 year old currently living in Huntington Beach California with my loving and atheist boyfriend. I graduated from TCU this past May and will apply for a PhD program this fall in Biology. Both of my parents are pastors and serve at FCC Pomona CA. They have supported me through thick and thin. My parents have helped me create my own faith, allowing me to think and act for myself. They taught me how to be the best person and best follower of The Way that I can be.

Leave a comment