This I Belive, by David Sietmann

Wise men have spoken for centuries about the things that one is guaranteed to encounter in life. From taxes to love, progress to ignorance, a multitude of things have been the objects of certainty in the minds of great thinkers. Nothing in life besides “X” is guaranteed. This claim seems to me, a semi-educated college undergrad, not well founded as they have been hailed. I talked to at least seven people in my lifetime and they all seem to have vastly different life experiences encompassing a wide array of activities most of which are not overlapping. To say that something is guaranteed to happen to everyone seems folly. Everyone should live their lives as they see fit, free from the imposed boundaries and expectations of others.

When I was the ripe age of twelve I had a presentation on the Greek god Pan. As a twelve-year old I had a chili bowl haircut, these jimmy neutron glasses that were just the worst and just about the most horrible set of teeth imaginable. As one could guess I wasn’t the most confident child on the earth. I gave my presentation and proceeded to stammer and mumble and stammer my way through the entire thing.  It was horrible. My teacher laughed me out of the room and suggested that I get good at math because pretty much anything else requires talking to people which I have proven to be deficient at. This was concerning news to me as I was bad at math and still am to this day. I took inventory when I got home and thought “What if I could just be confident and annunciate my words well? That would sure make life more bearable.” So that’s exactly what I did. I spent the next five years of my life working on public speaking and other assorted skills that would make social interactions more bearable. To this day I get extremely nervous whenever I must speak to the public but it never shows. I can have a conversation with anyone about anything and my life is much better for it. No one is really a stranger to me anymore. If anything, I’ve become too social.

Everyone has a real choice as to what they want to become and what they want to do with their lives. There is no rule forbidding people from changing. If someone really wants to make their lives different there is no reason they can feasibly do it. To let others dictate how one operates is about as silly as wearing jimmy neutron glasses during a sixth-grade presentation. I believe in self rooted change for the better and the power to morph oneself into anything they see fit. No one should be forced to get good at math.

…………………………………………………………

Howdy! My name is David SieDavid Sietmanntmann and I am a junior Finance major. I just transferred to TCU this semester and I gotta say this place is pretty great. Shoutout to my step-brother Forrest Broyles. Go Frogs, Rush FIJI! 

 

Leave a Reply

